Buying a Home in Massachusetts – Protect Your Home with a Homestead Exemption

By
Real Estate Agent with The Buyers' Counsel

House with UmbrellaMassachusetts home buyers have a valuable protection mechanism that is available to them at the time of their home purchase.   It is called a Declaration of Homestead.  

For most of us, our house is the biggest investment we will make and the largest asset we own.  It's also the place we call home.  To protect this asset, Massachusetts has established an important safeguard.  The Declaration of Homestead provides an easy and inexpensive protection for you in the event of a lawsuit.  

According to Massachusetts General Laws, you have a right to file for protection of your property equity under The Homestead Act.  This act allows you protection of up to five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000) of the value of your residence against attachment, seizure or execution or judgment from unsecured creditors.     

To qualify, the property must be your principal residence.  Exemptions to the Homestead protection are:  debts for taxes, mortgages used to purchase the home, debts incurred prior to signing the homestead, and debts from the court pursuing child support payments.

There is significance to this protection.  If you have filed a Homestead and you happen to be in automobile accident with insufficient insurance to cover your home, you will not be exposed to the extent of $500,000.  It also protects you in the case of dog bites, drowning in pools, slips and falls and professional liabilities.  While it is not substitute for home insurance, the Homestead protection is effective after any liability insurance is used to pay for any judgments that are related to a particular incident. 

You may file for protection whether you are a sole owner, joint tenant, and tenant by the entirety or tenant in common, but the act states that only one owner of a home or one family is eligible for protection on your residence.   The word "family" would include a parent and a child or children, a husband and wife and their children or a sole owner.

Home owners who are 62 years of age or older and persons who are disabled are protected to the extent of $500,000 each.  Therefore, if two disabled persons or persons above the age of 62 reside in the same home, they should each file a Declaration of Homestead.

The fee for filing is thirty-five dollars ($35).  Your closing attorney should make this form available to you at your closing. To be valid, it must be signed, notarized and registered with the Registry of Deeds.

This is great protection for a small price.    

 

Do you have questions about buying a home in the Metrowest area?  I would love to talk with you. Please feel free to call me at 508-881-6230 - any time or E-mail me. 

Subscribe to my blog

  Copyright 2009 - Claudette Millette, Broker, Owner, TheBuyersCounsel Learn More about Home Buyer Representation - Greater Boston and MetroWest Massachusetts -  Serving Massachusetts Home Buyers Since 1992 

  Ashland, Holliston, Hopkinton, Natick, Newton, Northborough, Framingham, Sherborn, Southborough, Sudbury, Wayland, Westborough  

    

Posted by

 

close

This entry hasn't been re-blogged:

Re-Blogged By Re-Blogged At
Spam prevention

Accessibility option: listen to a question and answer it!

To submit the form,
drag the umbrella to the circle on the side.

Type below the answer to what you hear. Numbers or words, lowercase:

Topic:
Home Buying
Location:
Massachusetts
Groups:
Addicted to Active Rain
Almost Anything Goes
Club Chaos
Realtors®
The Lounge at Active Rain
Tags:
declaration of homestead
homestead act
massachusetts homestead act
home buyer protection
claudette millette

Comments 4 New Comment

Anonymous
Post a Comment
Spam prevention

Accessibility option: listen to a question and answer it!

To submit the form,
drag the man to the circle on the side.

Type below the answer to what you hear. Numbers or words, lowercase:

Ambassador
1,268,960
Loreena Yeo
Realtor® | Frisco TX Community Ambassador
3:16 team REALTY ~ Locally-owned Frisco TX Real Estate Co.

Tonight, I learnt a little more about MA homestead. It's a little different than Texas.

Many homeowners only view the homestead from its tax advantages but fail to see the bigger picture about the grandeur of how it truly works for protection as a whole.

September 27, 2009 10:19 PM
Rainmaker
401,965
Claudette Millette
Buyer, Broker - Metrowest Mass
The Buyers' Counsel

Loreena:

I guess these protections vary from state to state.  In Massachusetts it's more about protecting yourself from a lawsuit.

 

September 27, 2009 10:26 PM
Rainmaker
543,261
Toula Rosebrock
Broker/Sales Associate, Realtor, Lacey Township,
Diane Turton, Realtors, Forked River, NJ

ToulaRosebrock,com

Hi Claudette:

So different for state to state...

In NJ for example, our car insurances (which premiums are very high here), gives you liability coverage that usually starts at $500K for these types of instances.  You can cover yourself for much more to, for an added premium, of course!

September 28, 2009 06:33 AM
Rainmaker
401,965
Claudette Millette
Buyer, Broker - Metrowest Mass
The Buyers' Counsel

Hi, Toula:

Interestiing.   So, New Jersey does not have a Homestead Act.  It sounds as though it is handled more through your car insurance.  That is different.

 

September 28, 2009 07:37 AM
Anonymous
Post a Comment
Spam prevention

Accessibility option: listen to a question and answer it!

To submit the form,
drag the folder to the circle on the side.

Type below the answer to what you hear. Numbers or words, lowercase:

Rainmaker
401,965

Claudette Millette

Buyer, Broker - Metrowest Mass
Ask me a question
*
*
*
Spam prevention

Accessibility option: listen to a question and answer it!

To submit the form,
drag the magnifying-glass to the circle on the side.

Type below the answer to what you hear. Numbers or words, lowercase:

Additional Information

Clicky Web Analytics
Clicky