Vacant Property Tax or Listing Tax ?!

Reblogger Darrin Friedman
Real Estate Broker/Owner with Real Living | At Home

 

This information was sent to the local Realtor Association this morning.  It seems a bit crazy to me!  It is true we have a bunch of vacant properties; but this is going a bit far.

Mayor Fenty has proposed the creation of a $250-$5,000 Vacant Property Registration Fee.  
 
In the Mayor's proposed fiscal year 2010 Budget Support Emergency Act, which could be voted on as early as next week without a hearing, and in his proposed fiscal year 2011 budget, if a property is unoccupied for 30 days, the owner is REQUIRED to file a vacant property application with DCRA and PAY a fee for that privilege. 
 
The initial registration fee will be $250.
The renewal registration fee for the first renewal year will be $500.
The renewal registration fee for the second renewal year will be $1,000.
The renewal registration fee for the third renewal year will be $2,500.
The renewal registration fee for the fourth renewal year will be $5,000.

The revenue created by this potential fee is staggering - almost $8 million in just over 4 years. 

The following existing exemptions WOULD BE ELIMINATED in the Mayor's proposals:
For Sale properties, For Rent properties, newly-constructed properties, properties under active construction, properties that are subject to probate, and properties subject to fire, flood, or other casualty.   
 
Only properties owned by a foreign government, the United States' government, and the District government would be exempt from this fee.
 
REALTORS® and their clients need to be able to list their properties without having to worry about paying a Vacant Property Registration - in effect A LISTING TAX.  Contact a DC Councilmember today.  Tell them:

NO to a Vacant Property Registration Fee 
NO to a de facto Listing Tax
NO to the District grabbing more money from property owners

E-mail all Councilmembers atdccouncil@dccouncil.us

 
To contact individual Councilmembers:

Council Chair Vince Gray:  vgray@dccouncil.us- 202-724-8032 
At-Large Councilmember Michael Brown: mbrown@dccouncil.us- 202-724-8105
At-Large Councilmember Kwame Brown:  kbrown@dccouncil.us-  202-724-8174
At-Large Councilmember David Catania: dcatania@dccouncil.us-  202-724-7772
At-Large Councilmember Phil Mendelson: pmendelson@dccouncil.us-  202-724-8064
Ward 1 Councilmember Jim Graham: jgraham@dccouncil.us-  202-724-8181
Ward 2 Councilmember Jack Evans: jevans@dccouncil.us-  202-724-8058
Ward 3 Councilmember Mary Cheh: mcheh@dccouncil.us-  202-724-8062
Ward 4 Councilmember Muriel Bowser: mbowser@dccouncil.us- 202-724-8052
Ward 5 Councilmember Harry Thomas, Jr.: hthomas@dccouncil.us-  202-724-8028
Ward 6 Councilmember Tommy Wells: twells@dccouncil.us-  202-724-8072
Ward 7 Councilmember Yvette Alexander: yalexander@dccouncil.us-  202-724-8068
Ward 8 Councilmember Marion Barry: mbarry@dccouncil.us- 202-724-8045

Call them today - or get ready to pay up!

 

             

 

Contact James Downing of the Downing Real Estate Group, if you are selling, buying or have questions!

Office: 202-362-5800   Cell: 703.244.3971

Licensed in Washington DC, Virginia & Maryland.

Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Chevy Chase
5028 Wisconsin Ave NW  Suite 100 * Washington DC 20016

 

 

close

This entry hasn't been re-blogged:

Re-Blogged By Re-Blogged At

Anonymous
Post a Comment
Spam prevention

Accessibility option: listen to a question and answer it!

To submit the form,
drag the chair to the circle on the side.

Type below the answer to what you hear. Numbers or words, lowercase:

Spam prevention

Accessibility option: listen to a question and answer it!

To submit the form,
drag the woman to the circle on the side.

Type below the answer to what you hear. Numbers or words, lowercase:

Show All Comments
Rainer
131,955
Bryan Watkins
LRA Real Estate Group - Mesa, AZ

James and Darrin. Glad I don't iive in your city. the politicians smell money. it is easier to get from someone who will not yell at them. good post.

Apr 17, 2010 12:14 AM #1
Rainmaker
839,218
Tim Lorenz
TIM LORENZ - Elite Home Sales Team - Mission Viejo, CA
949 874-2247

James and Darrin,

Now that is a very interesting tax.  Not smart but interesting none the less.

Apr 17, 2010 12:34 AM #2
Anonymous
Post a Comment
Spam prevention

Accessibility option: listen to a question and answer it!

To submit the form,
drag the man to the circle on the side.

Type below the answer to what you hear. Numbers or words, lowercase:

Show All Comments
Rainer
58,126

Darrin Friedman

Ask me a question
*
*
*
Spam prevention

Accessibility option: listen to a question and answer it!

To submit the form,
drag the clip to the circle on the side.

Type below the answer to what you hear. Numbers or words, lowercase:

Additional Information