Starting July 1, new cell phone and texting laws begin and West Virginia state officials say the issue of safe driving is at the forefront.
On July 1, 2012, texting while driving will be illegal and becomes a primary offense, which means police can pull citizens over and issue tickets for that offense alone. However, hand held cell phone use while driving will only be a secondary offense starting July 1, meaning police officers must have another reason to pull you over before citing you, such as driving with an expired license plate.
On July, 2013, hand held cell phone use becomes a primary offense. The penalties are:
- First offense - $100 fine
- Second offense - $200 fine
- Third offense - $300 fine and three points on driving record.
Court costs are also included with all fines.
According to the new law, West Virginia Department of Transportation has 90 days from July 1 to construct signs alerting drivers of the new laws.
All I can say is “it’s about time”. Although I’ve been guilty of this, I now pull off the road if I need to call someone or take an incoming call.
Are you still texting and driving?